Maybe

Maybe all this time when I was waiting for you,

You were trying to get over me

On and on the voices go,

Telling me she was your way home

While drowning in the feminine seas,

She was the only shore you could see,

With her you were wild and free,

With her you never thought about me

Cause I didn’t exist yet in your life

On and on the voices scream,

Saying you were better off without me

I remember when she told me that she was once part of your symphony

It’s hard to believe that you were once always together

You once felt the same way

Romantically 

It’s hard to believe that she was once  your Only One,

That she was the only one you had eyes for

On and on the voices chant,

Saying how you’ve only got one more chance

This has been going on for too long

The sound of frustration is deafening,

And the taste of it is bittersweet

Maybe you weren’t the one after all,

Maybe I was overthinking all this time,

Maybe you do still have eyes for her

Maybe it was in my head all this time 

I guess maybe was the only word in our vocabulary

Because certain never seemed to be quite there yet

Leave a Reply

