Unattractive

I never thought a time like this would come:

Where my insecurity rose higher than the heavens,

Where I would never be completely satisfied with how I look,

Where I’d be so incredibly conscious of my appearance

I remember that time,

When I found out what The Others thought about me

What I didn’t understand was why I was in their conversations,

Why I somewhat mattered to them,

Why they talked about me 

They clearly had no reason to,

Yet they did

They said things that they didn’t know would leak out like a pipe which wasn’t secure

The words soon arrived,

They got to me quicker than expected

And my heart broke

I understand now,

I was never attractive to anyone

He didn’t deserve me

He deserved someone prettier,

Someone he’d be proud to walk hand in hand with,

Someone who would make him get butterflies everytime they looked at each other

He deserved better

Right now,

I understand why I’ve never had an actual he

Because I would be an embarrassment to him

And why would he want to receive such labels,

When he could be with someone more beautiful and receive different tags 

I know one day,

I’ll change for the better 

I just don’t know how long the wait is gonna be

Until then,

I’ll just wait

3 thoughts on “Unattractive

  1. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    Your text reminded me of adolescents getting rejected in school during the formative years when people think acceptance matters. Interestingly enough, I see you have other articles about bullying.
    Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

