Storytime: Why I Don’t Like Fish

Related image

Another full- length ES Ordinary blog? You guys are some lucky ducks… or should I say fish? Nahhh, terrible joke. I need to stop acting like I’m funny.


Hey everyone! As you can tell from that orientation, yes, I do have another full- length blog! Honestly, doing full- length blogs are actually really fun but they’re also time- consuming and consider a great idea. Plus, they aren’t as easy as writing poems because when I write my poems I usually write what I see and how I feel and then do it in a creative form which somehow covers up the truth and makes it sound really different and poetic and wowwww…. I just realised I told you the secret of how I write my poems!  :O. Oh well, now you know :).

Anyways, before I start sounding more stupid than I am now, I’m gonna tell you a story which happened in my childhood and shows the real reason why I don’t like fish. To be honest, the only fish I like is the fried fish we have on Fridays at school, but other than that, all fish is bleughhh.

Ok, let’s get started.


So there came a time in ES’s younger years when she was being a good happy child and eating some fish.

I was pretty much enjoying myself as I ate it because, obviously it was food! πŸ˜› I was there in the kitchen on the table and my mum was by the stairs but she was on the phone, and the thing is, when Africans are on the phone, they take foreverrrrr. And it’s the same when you go to someone else’s house likeee:

Oh,we’re only coming to say hi.

But really, who spends 5 frickin hours just saying hi to people?? And the thing is you’re always there sitting just listening to the convo until they finally realise you’re there and be like.

Oh, ES how are you??

But let’s not go off topic.

So yeah, there I was eating my fish and then suddenly, the longass spine of this fish entered my throat and… and:

IT GOT STUCK IN THEREEEE

It was the worst thing ever. It hurt and I could only swallow to breathe and no matter how hard I tried to swallow, it couldn’t go down my throat.

I low- key tried not to cry, I’m not sure if I actually did because you know, it was a long time ago. I was even trying to make signals to my mum- like pointing down at my throat- so she could know what was wrong but I don’t think she saw me. (Btw, it was just because of that, it’s not like she didn’t care or anything just if you guys were wondering so please don’t think it was bad parenting. πŸ™‚ )

Finally, finally, ES finally managed to gulp down the entire fish spine. She doesn’t remember how she did it, but she just knows that it was a hard process and that the fish spine still isn’t in her throat. Hooray!!

Because of that terrible incident, I’ve never wanted to eat fish. Of course, there were times when I had to, but I didn’t want to, cause, you know, bad memories and too many bones.

Sorry fish 😦


I hope you guys enjoyed that storytime and it was a proper alibi for why I don’t like eating fish with exposed bones.

Make sure to like comment and follow my blog Waves of Awesomeness and don’t be scared to look at blogs similar to this, especially the one which explains why I hate going to customer checkout which you can find here.

Peace out and stay awesome πŸ™‚

~ ES Ordinary xx

5 thoughts on “Storytime: Why I Don’t Like Fish

  1. wormalblog says:

    Oh my god this is terrifying! Haha and you’re right on with the whole mom’s being like I’m just going to say hi LIKE WOMAN WE KNOW HI IS CODE FOR WE STAYING AS LONG AS I FEEEEEL LIKE IT. haha great post!πŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

    • ES Ordinary says:

      Thanks so much, I’m glad you enjoyed it! And yeah it did hurt A LOT my throat was in agony and you’re totally write about hi being the code for: WE’RE STAYING HERE UNTIL WE RUN OUT OF THINGS TO SAY πŸ˜‚β€οΈ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

