Telephone

There would be times where I would wait for it to ring:

To light up and dazzle me with the sight of your name

And there would be times when you would be the last thing I wanted to hear,

My ringtone would be deafening and alarming,

And seeing your name would make me want to throw away the phone,

See the glass shatter,

And our connection destroyed

If I couldn’t see the beauty of your face,

Then I could hear the tunefulness of your voice

Reassuring me,

That you’ll be there tomorrow 

But that telephonetic connection was a curse

It made me fall in love with the way you speak,

But hate it all the more

Every phone call,

I would want to either break the connection,

Or close the gap

You’re too hard to handle 

Leave a Reply

