To Painful Words

I wish I could wipe away painful words,

Like you wipe away dust from a surface

I wish I could push away painful words,

Like you push away nasty, unimportant thoughts

I wish I could wash away painful words,

Like you wash soap from a soaking plate

I wish I could defeat these painful words

But it’s way too difficult

These painful words,

They hurt as much as being punched in the stomach

The words are like paper that has been scrunched up,

No matter how much you try to iron it out,

And make it the same again,

It can never happen

No matter how many times you get your heartbroken,

By terrible, nasty, spiteful, painful words

It can never come back together as well

It is a scar on your heart,

That can never fade away

It is a mark on your mind,

That can never be erased

It stays there,

Until a new mark comes along,

Marks that turn into artwork,

Because they are words of beauty and encouragement

But until then,

I’m still trying to deal with these painful words

I’m still trying to relieve this undying pain 

Leave a Reply

