I Used To

I used to love the natural light:

Open up the curtains and let the sunshine rain in

But that was before I became insecure and didn’t want people to see me through the windows 

I used to love going to parties and spending time with other people

But that was before I gained social anxiety and hated large amounts of people in one place

I used to not care about what people thought of me,

I used to do things for me,

Cause it made me happy

But that was before I found out what people thought of me,

And I started to care what people think 

What happened to me?

Why do I care about people’s thoughts?

It’s because people like to say things without consideration 

And it hurts people

I’ve been hurt before

And I don’t want the same thing to happen again

And I don’t want this thought to be something I used to think 

Leave a Reply

