Things I Learnt in Year 7: 2015-2016

I’ve decided to start a new segment on my blog called ‘Things I’ve Learnt’. It’ll be something I do at the end of every school year and where I list some things I learnt when I was in that school year. It’s also like an advice column for students who are about to go into that year and need advice for when they enter.

Nowwww

BRING ON THE LESSONS LEARNT

1.) Make friends as quickly as possible 

Year 7, when entering, is like a big new group of friends. There are people who came from several different primary schools who don’t know you but very soon will. Entering secondary school is a time to change your reputation for the better. People won’t know you as the person you were in primary school; they will know you as the person they are very soon to meet.

Making friends is very important. I remember my school principal saying that secondary school friends are usually friends for life. Secondary school opens up opportunities. You need to make friends before it’s too late because in a matter of months, cliques would’ve finally fused together and everyone would’ve gained their official social title and it would be too late to make new friends. Don’t spend time alone, be free to meet new people and befriend them.

2.) Try new things

I once told myself that without the trying of new things, then a comfort zone wouldn’t even exist. Secondary school is a new beginning and it’s very likely that you’ll be trying new things. Some of them are pretty much meant to happen, but there are much more that you can do by choice. Take that chance and go for it.

3.) Get involved

There are several clubs and teams available to join at the start of secondary. Everybody has a special talent they need to bring out, and as far as I know, there is pretty much a club for everything. Getting involved helps meeting new people more of an easy subject and it additionally improves your social skills and reputation amongst people. It’s one of the things that aren’t just important in secondary school but in life in general.

4.) SHINEEEEE

Yes. Shine. Don’t be scared to show everyone how amazing and talented you are. Let everyone know the real you; trust me, once you’ve done that, then people will appreciate you more now that they know who you really are.

5.) Hold your tray tightly at lunchtime

Yes, I know it’s kinda weird and not very serious but trust me, if you were in my school, then you would know that if you drop your tray at lunch, you’ll get humiliated by everyone in the school’s restaurant. Once everyone hears the smash of that plate, the next thing you’ll hear is the shouting of secondary pupils saying:

AYYYYY

Even some really irritating Year 11s bang on the tables in a really loud, annoying way. 

So please, I beg, don’t break any plates.

6.) Don’t give yourself the “need” to know the latest beef

So what? Shaniqua broke up with Maxwell last week. Doesn’t mean everybody, including yourself, has to know about it. Unless you were a proper witness or just happened to see the event in its time and place, you don’t have to be involved with something you weren’t involved with. Doing that can sometimes get you in trouble. Because you knew what happened, then teachers would use you as a piece of evidence because you know the info.

Hanging out with crowds like this which beef a lot can sometimes get you into trouble if not careful. That’s why when beef happens and a teacher comes, you see people running away. Why? Because they don’t wanna be considered as involved and get in trouble as a result.

7.) Hang out with the right people

I guess there’s not necessarily a “wrong” type of people in secondary school, but what I mean is, don’t hang out with people who would lead you to doing bad deeds and making bad decisions with your life. There are actually such things as bad influences and they are surrounding you everywhere you go, you just need to know how to avoid them. These types of people can change you in the negative way and can possibly lead you do doing bad things in the future.

Be with those who make you happy and support you. If you hang out with friends who get you in trouble most of the time, then you need to do something about that- the easiest thing probably being to switch to a new group of friends. Also be with friends who you can make better and can make you better. These are probably your real friends for life.

8.) Set yourself challenges

When I was in Year 7, I found out that I knew a lot of people’s names in my yeargroup. The thing is, there is around 240 people in our Year group and the fact that I knew so many of their names was actually pretty crazy but awesome. 

I then realised how knowing people’s names was actually kinda important because I would hate to be in Year 11 and have to ask what a person in my own yeargroup’s name was. So I decided to set myself a challenge to know pretty much everyone’s names in Year 7 last year. I’m still on my way, and I’m really close.

At the start of Year 7, I decided to set myself secondary school targets. They’re pretty self- explanatory but they are targets I want to complete by the end of secondary school. I think it’s a good idea to do this when you start secondary school cause it’s a great way to be more active for achievement in secondary school. By Gods grace, I’m gonna achieve one of them later this year which is winning the Jack Petchey ‘Speak Out!’ Challenge. I really wanna do it and I believe that I’ll get the award. Jack Petchey did say:

” If you think you can, you can!”

9.) Take a minute to look around you

When I was in Year 7, I spent most of my time alone. During my alone time, I looked around at what was surrounding me and recognised all the different people. I paid attention to what was going on around me, and because of this, I realised a lot of things. I called these: Moments of Realisation. They’re times when I find something out just by looking around you.

I think that just once in a while, you should just sit down and look around cause trust me, you’ll see a lot of things you’ve never noticed before.

10.) Don’t be scared to talk to someone

I know how hard secondary school is, especially for Year 7s. At the start of the year, you’re pretty much engulfed in the sea of older people. You’re a small fish in a big school (Hehe see what I did there ๐Ÿ˜œ) and it’s hard to know where you’re going. Don’t be scared to ask people (this also includes students in other years) where your class is. It’s not like it’s embarrassing, all of us have gone through that phase and we all asked teachers where to go during changeover.

In addition to this, there are several members of staff in the school all there to help you. There are learning mentors who you can talk to whenever you need to. So don’t be afraid to talk to anyone, it’s all for your own benefit.

11.) We’re all just ordinary people 

I know sometimes, when you look at the popular people you may feel somewhat downgraded and like a littler version compared to them. Don’t worry, they’re still normal people; we all are. They just happen to be rated a lot by others and hang out in really large groups. I remember in one of my realisation moments, that I found out that just because you may hang out in a big group doesn’t necessarily mean that you are popular. 

There are still times in school when I hate the populars because I thought they believed the should have or get special treatment just because they are at a “higher status”. I thought bad of many of the populars but really I didn’t have all the information so I was pretty much chatting crap. I learnt in Year 7 that I shouldn’t feel angry when I see them together in a big group outside of school: they’re just friends having fun, so why should I hate on that. I wouldn’t like it if a person hated on me when I were hanging out with my friends and they saw me. I guess I was just being jealous of them because of my lack of confidence and popularity.

12.) Don’t copy others

This one really pissed me off in Year 7 and it still pisses me off when I see it in Year 8 too. 

Basically, two forms in my Year each with a group of girls do the same thing:

THE FRICKIN TWIN ON THE DAILY

By this, I mean, they’re always matching stuff; and I know it’s kinda obvious they will be because we’re a uniform school and our year is pretty much wearing the same thing, I mean proper matching likeee something else. 

Let me put it this way:

You see 4 girls, each with their hair in a donut, with the exact same type of Nike bag wearing a jumper and white Nike socks all with their blazers off and holding it in the same way in their hands, walking at the same pace.

This is pretty much what I mean.

Sometimes, I wondered whether those girls could actually dress themselves or actually contacted each other to see what they were gonna wear the next day:

Girl, what we wearing tomorrow?

Jumper, backpack, black socks

Yasss, thank you!

No prob babes

But there’s always that one person in the group who decides to be a little bit warmer than the rest of the group and wear tights instead and it kinda feels like the system is broken.

I mean, I’m fine with twinning, to be honest, I find it kinda cute sometimes- sometimes being the key word in this situation. I prefer twinning every once in a while, not every day because people would start to think you can’t dress yourself if you’re not careful. 

In addition to this, don’t be that kinda girl who when it’s winter, dresses like it’s summer. It’s proper piss- taking, not gonna lie. And especially don’t do it because you might have seem some other girl do the same and get praised for her exposed flesh. I’d rather stay warm rather than get hypothermia trying to impress people with my flesh. 

13.) Have high hopes and believe in yourself 

You get many surprises in secondary school. If there’s a competition in your school that you happened to be participating in, then don’t be negative about it: believe in yourself. When I joined secondary school, I never thought that I’d be so good at Spanish and I ended up winning a two rounds of a competition. Why? How? Because I tried. I believed in myself. And I achieved a goal I never thought I had before.

14.) Be yourself

I know it’s kind of clichรฉ, but trust me, it really truly helps. There are several different types of people in  school who are similar to you but not entirely. I know there may be people in high statuses, but there’s no need to change yourself just so you can be presentable to them. It’s better to be with people who you’re comfortable with and you don’t have to act in a certain way with. This is one that should be remembered for the rest of your life.

I hope you guys enjoyed this blog and thought it was very helpful for some Year 7s- to- be and maybe some parents as well for their kids.

Make sure to like comment and follow my blog Waves of Awesomeness and don’t be scared to tune in for some of my past blogs and blogs to come.

Peace out and stay awesome โœŒ๐Ÿพ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜„

                                    ~ ES Ordinary xx

9 thoughts on “Things I Learnt in Year 7: 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

